Songs about women’s independence and power – Part 1

Christina  Aguilera feat. Lil’ Kim – Can’t Hold Us Down

“This is for my girls…

This is for my girls all around the world

Who’ve come across a man who don’t respect your worth

Thinking all women should be seen, not heard

So what do we do girls?

Shout louder!

Letting them know we’re gonna stand our ground

Lift your hands high and wave ’em proud

Take a deep breath and say it loud

Never can, never will, can’t hold us down”

Destiny’s Child – Independent Women

Destiny’s Child – Independent Women

The shoes on my feet

I’ve bought it

The clothes I’m wearing

I’ve bought it

The rock I’m rockin’

‘Cause I depend on me

If I wanted the watch you’re wearin’

I’ll buy it

The house I live in

I’ve bought it

The car I’m driving

I’ve bought it

I depend on me

(I depend on me)

Alicia Keys – Superwoman

“Cause I am a Superwoman

Yes I am

(Yes she is)

Even when I’m in a mess

I still put on a vest

With an S on my chest

Oh yes

I’m a Superwoman”

About genderprovocation

It doesn’t matter who you are: a man or a woman, a child, an adult, a gay… We are all people and have to respect each other rights. And gender equality is also our right! Even if gender roles, models and behavior look like provocation sometimes. Here is the blog of creative people from Belarus and Sweden who have decided to show gender variety and say that every person has the right to choose hisher own role. The Belarusian Youth Public Union “New Faces” and The Swedish organizations “Cultural Clinic” and an agency The Swedish Institute have put the beginning of this blog.
This entry was posted in Art, Feminism, media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

